Become a member

Join EUFORES here

Theresa Griffin steps down as EUFORES President, Ciarán Cuffe elected President

Category: news, press release


On 28 January 2020, at a EUFORES Extra-Ordinary General Assembly, Theresa Griffin, MEP (UK, S&D) had to step down as EUFORES President due to Brexit.

MEP Griffin has been a member of the EUFORES Board since 2015, acting as a Vice-President and taking over as President on 1 July 2019. During her mandate, she has done excellent work leading cross-party political discussions on renewable energy and energy efficiency.

During the General Assembly, a new EUFORES Board of Presidents was elected:
- Ciarán Cuffe (MEP, Greens/EFA, Ireland) as President
- Katalin Cseh (MEP, Renew Europe Group, Hungary) as Vice-President
- Niels Fuglsang (MEP, S&D, Denmark) as Vice-President

EUFORES President Ciarán Cuffe announced to be very happy about his election and he looks forward to working together with his board colleagues and the new EUFORES Extended Board on delivering a Just Transition, the EU Green Deal and answers to the climate emergency.

He added to be very sad seeing Theresa leave the EP and that he will try to do his best to continue her legacy.