





NATIONAL PARLIAMENTARY WORKSHOP

Organized in cooperation with the House of Representatives of Cyprus

Charting the path towards a green and sustainable future

House of Representatives
Nehrou Avenue, 1102 Nicosia
Friday 29 November 2024, 08:30-13:30 – Cyprus Time
Kyrenia Meeting Room

Working languages: English and Greek with simultaneous interpretation

• 08:30 – 09:00 Registration and welcome coffee

Opening Session 09:00 - 09:15

Moderator: Ms. Elina Kolokotroni, Parliamentary Assistant to the Cyprus Greens-Citizens' Cooperation.

- 09:00 09:05 Welcoming speech
 - **H.E. Ms. Annita Demetriou,** President of the House of Representatives.
- 09:05 09:10 Welcoming speech
 - **Mr. Charalambos Theopemptou,** Chairman of the House Standing Committee on the Environment.
- 09:10 09:15 Welcome by EUFORES
 - Dr. Jan Geiss, Secretary General, EUFORES.

Mr. Ciaran Cuffe, President of EUFORES, former Member of EuropeanParliament (online).

Session 1: Cyprus and European Energy Policies 09:15 - 09:40

Chair: Mr. Charalambos Theopemptou, Chairperson of the House Standing Committee on the Environment

- 09:15 09:25 The Cyprus Energy Policy: Future plans towards energy efficiency
 Mr. Giorgos Papanastasiou, Minister of Energy, Commerce and
 - Industry.
- 09:25 09:35 Europe's Vision for a strong economy and clean future: The

elements of the EU Green Deal

Ms. Yolanda Garcia Mezquita, Head of Unit, Relations with the Member States and the Energy Community, DG Energy, European Commission (online).

• 09:35 – 09:45 Q&A

SESSION 2: Clean and Efficient 09:45 – 10:35

Chair: Mr. Charalambos Theopemptou, Chairperson of the House Standing Committee on the Environment

•	09:45 – 09:55	Public Transport /ETS II adaptation / Electromobility and public buildings		
		Mr. Alexis Vafeades , Minister of Transport, Communications and Works.		

Energy grid in Cyprus

Mr. Philippos Philippou,	Vice-Chairman,	Cyprus	Energy	Regulatory
Authority.				

•	10:05 - 10:15	The new European Energy Efficiency Directive		
		Mr. Nikolaos Kontinakis, Policy Officer, DG ENERGY, European		
		Commission (online).		

•	10:15 - 10:25	The untapped potential for energy efficiency of buildings in Cyprus
		Mr. Savvas Vlachos, Director, Cyprus Energy Agency.

•	10:25 -	10:35	Q&A
•	10.23	10.33	QUA

09:55 – 10:05

10:35 – 10:40	FAMILY PHOTO	

10:40 – 11:00 COFFEE BREAK

Producers.

SESSION 3: Renewable Energy 11:00 – 12:10

Chair: Mr. Jan Geiss, Secretary General, EUFORES

•	11:00 - 11:10	The new European Renewable Energy Directive		
		Mr. Lukasz Kolinski, Head of Unit, Renewables and Energy System		
		Integration Policy, DG ENERGY, European Commission (online). (tbc)		
•	11:10 - 11:20	Biomass Potential in Cyprus		
		Mr. George Andreou, Vice-Chairman, Cyprus Association of Biogas		

• 11:40 – 11:50 Making Solar Heat mainstream on buildings: Learnings from the Cyprus Industry.

Dr. Andreas Ioannides, President, Cyprus Union of Solar Thermal Industrialists.

• 11:50 – 12:00 Photovoltaic energy in Cyprus

Mr. Fanos Karantonis, Chairman, Cyprus Association of Renewable Energy Enterprises.

• 12:00 – 12:10 Q&A

SESSION 4: Towards a new and sustainable Cypriot energy system 12:10 – 13:20

Chair: Jan Geiss, Secretary General, EUFORES

• 12:10 – 12:20 Fit for 55 policies

Mr. Charalambos Theopemptou, Chairperson, Standing Committee on the Environment.

• 12:20 – 12:40 Successful narratives in the Cypriot context for effective policy implementation

Mr. Daniel Becker, Director, Guidehouse.

• 12:40 – 12:50 Challenges and opportunities of green transition in Cyprus

Mr. Panayiotis Kastanias, Senior Energy and Environment Officer, Cyprus Employers & Industrialists Federation.

• 12:50 – 13:00 Energy Democracy and Justice in Cyprus

Ms. Natasa Ioannou, Project Manager, Energy Campaign, Friends of the Earth Cyprus.

• 13:00 – 13:10 Q&A

• 13:10 – 13:20 Closing Remarks

Dr. Jan Geiss, Secretary General, EUFORES.

END OF EVENT





Co-Funded by the European Union. Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or CINEA. Neither the European Union nor the granting authority can be held responsible for them.

18 November 2024 /SH/AI/DA/